main content holder
Previous Review Previous Review

Rating: 2.9/5 (1736 votes cast)

Vonage

Vonage

A leader in VoIP service

Get it Now!

Summary
Vonage is by far the most visible Voip provider in the marketplace, although it entered the marketplace later than some. Vonage now stands as a leader amongst its VoIP rivals, providing dependable internet telephone service to those ready to cut the cord on their traditional phone service. It still offers a great package with a free adaptor, one month free service and unlimited local and long distance calling. To ensure their competitiveness, they now offer unlimited international plans as well, beginning with 17 countries and expanding to 60. You can choose from Europe, Asia, Mexico and Latin America, or Enhanced (the 60 country calling plan). The Vonage refer-a-friend plan earns up to two months free on your own service.

Calling Plans & Expense
- Vonage basic plans provide unlimited local and long distance calling for $24.95 per month.
- Unlimited international calling is also available and ranges from an additional $6 per month to $15 per month.
- If you are not on an unlimited plan, these calls can be made for the reasonable international price of one cent per minute. 

Pros
- Rated #1 for digital telephone service
- Award-recognized service by industry experts like PC Magazine
- Refer-A-Friend program
- Unlimited calling packages
- International calls to 60 countries
- Keep your current phone number
- Many popular features included for no additional cost
- E411 and E911 compliant
- 60 day money back guarantee

Cons
- Negative BBB report
- Customer service has been an ongoing problem at Vonage. Customer service is outsourced

Features
The Vonage Unlimited Plan comes with 20 free features, which includes:
- Enhanced call forwarding
- Network availability number
- Call waiting
- Call hunt
- Caller ID
- Voicemail Visual/Voicemail Plus
- Click-2-Call
- 3-way calling
- Call transfer
- Softphone
- Number for life

Other features available when you sign up for Vonage, some with a nominal fee, include:
- Vonage fax service available by adding a second number
- E411 and E911 services as well
- Visual voicemail, that enables you to scroll through and read voicemails that have been transcribed to text, then forward the messages to up to five email addresses or five cell phones simultaneously.

BBB Report

“On March 27, 2007 this company's membership in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more consumer complaints filed with the BBB.“

Common Misspellings
vongage, vonoge, vanage, voinage


Previous Review Previous Review
Click here to get started now!

Review Comments

Mario Pallares:  I have been with Vonage for 7 years. Before, I remmember when my phone bill was over $80 or even $100 every month, since I have Vonage I only pay $33 x month and the highest I ever paid is around $60 including international calls!! I also have a second VOIP line with Comcast because it's included in the cable and internet plan, but Vonage service and price are much better.
posted on Thursday, January 20, 2011

dave in texas:  I had Vonage for about 4 years. I have to say that the service was exceptional for the price. BUT...after about 4 years the Vonage supplied modem went south. I contacted support (India) and got a real run-around about what the problem was. I was asked to execute tests that were impossible with the blown box - THREE times. I jumped throught their hoops twice, each time requesting to speak to a higher level manager (ignored). The third time I told them they were just wasting my time now (same set of instructions for the same failed tests). I told them that I was terminating service (which I did). At that point I got some calls from high-level US management - too late! they'd had their chance and blown it. The folks in India are very polite but do NOT realize when it' s time to involve someone who can actually make a decision on problem resolution once it's clear that it is NO LONGER a technical issue. They'd still have me as a customer if they can only figure out how to treat their clients.
posted on Monday, January 10, 2011

TangoBabsi:  I have had Vonage for about 4 years, and their router keeps disconnecting and needs re-setting. Finally I've had enough and am told that the router is out of warranty. I will need a new one at MY expense. I prefer Magic Jack. . . It WORKS and you pay ONE fee yearly!. . . I"m going to dump Vonaga.
posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Mike in Tampa:  I have been using Vonage since 2004. In that time, we have had problems with the connection 2 times. Both times, a phone call to Vonage solved the problem. The first time, during a hurricane, it took 2 days to fix the problem. The second time took less than 1 hour. I think that this is acceptable for having the service for 6 years and 4 hurricanes. The only downside that I have seen is that the $24.95 that we used to pay is now up to $34 and change. This is due to taxes and state fees, so is not a Vonage problem. Also, you cannot block a single phone number. We had a telemarketing company calling us morning and night for about a year. With Vonage, I could not block the number. Finally, I did some Internet research, found the company and spoke to them directly. I have not received any calls since, but it would have been nice just to block the call through Vonage. Overall, it has been a great experience, and I would recommend it to anyone that has fast, reliable Internet service.
posted on Sunday, October 3, 2010

Arthur Hall:  They are suppose to call me @ 9 am on the 5th. They said they refund my money on the 5th and they said within 30 days. whooo-ooo-ooo Vonage
posted on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

arthur hall:  We called for phone service. They started charging us the day we signed up. They said we would be up and running within two weeks and they said they would have the vonage package parts, ect.. We got ours in about 4-5 days. We hooked it up and worked with it for about an hour or so on our cell phones. They gave us people with broken English who were hard to understand so we decided on Friday that we were going to get this thing up and going. We were on the phone 8 times on Friday on our cell phone. We invested over 8 hours of time and when we told them that we were disapointed and started talking about canceling, their next words were that they were goig to charge us $119 if they didn't get thier box back. I asked them if they would reinburse us at least for our cell minutes and some of our time being on the phone with them. They said they would send us another box and they didn't know what the real problem was. So, they passed us onto a supervisor and said they would talk about it after they sent us a new box. They started charging us the first day they got our credit card And would credit back to our account within 30 days. I told them I might pass it onto the Better bussiness bureau because they threatend to charge us $119 because they said they sent us a bad box. I hope everybody doesn't do bussiness that way.
posted on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Brian in MD:  Been a subscriber for about 3 years. No problems, other than a lightning zapped router, in the last 2 years. 100% as reliable as the internet connection. Only negative is the cheap 500 minute plan price keeps increasing. Love call forwarding/multi-ring.
posted on Friday, June 12, 2009

MJH:  Tried signing up for Vonage about a year ago. Somehow they had a problem processing my credit card (what? it works fine everywhere else) and then after that they couldn\'t activate the line. Spent two weeks corresponding with \"Executive Support\" or something like that - supposedly the \"supervisors\" who report directly to the CEO (yeah, right). They promised call backs and never ONCE called me back. You\'d think a phone company could, you know, call you back when they say they will. Anyway, I would NOT recommend. The customer service is absolutely horrible.
posted on Thursday, January 22, 2009

Bill:  They promise you low prices, but if you do not read every little bit of information you will be taken advantage of. Once they have you, it will cost you several dollars to disconnect. Crooks!
posted on Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Frank:  Wasn't Verizon or at&t suing Vonage? I am surprised they are still in business. I would recommend going with your current cable provider and play it safe.
posted on Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Patricia :  I went with them because I heard nothing but good reports. I can see why, a well-rounded company.
posted on Monday, July 21, 2008



Add A Comment

panel footer