main content holder
Previous Review Previous Review

Rating: 3.0/5 (16899 votes cast)

Lingo

Lingo

VoIP service from a friendly provider.

Get it Now!

Summary
Lingo is a VoIP provider that makes a great alternative to POTS (Plain Old Telephone System). Their array of features is attractive and affordable, with international offerings that are extremely inviting. Their longevity has yet to be determined, as they are a fairly new player in the marketplace. Lingo offers both residential and business packages.

Pros
- Pricing is affordable
- Service to 22 foreign countries, with unlimited calls included in some packages
- The range of telephony features is highly competitive, with Lingo delivering many extras unavailable through some providers
- The price for an 800- or international number is affordable
- Business plans
- Offers money-back guarantee

Cons
- Reviews are mixed from consumers
- The technology itself is far too new for flawless performance from any provider
- Some negative BBB complaints
- Not as many international call locations as other plans

Expense
Lingo pricing for the VoIP service is certainly competitive. Some of the pricing you can expect is as follows:
- A one-time activation fee of $29.95.
- Equipment is included for no extra charge with some residential and business plans
- Residential services starting at $21.95 per month for the calling plan with unlimited calls to the U.S., Canada and 22 international countries.
- An 800-number is an additional $5/month, with 100 minutes of incoming calls included.
- An international number from Canada is an additional $5/month and from other foreign countries $10/month
- A second phone number is also an additional $5/month
- Taxes, fees and other regulated surcharges will also be charged
- Money-back guarantee for the first 30 days. Cancellation after the 30-day trial period and prior to 1 year is $39.95.

Features
Your subscription to Lingo comes with a complete features package, which can include:
- Unlimited long distance to the U.S. and Canada, (including Hawaii, Alaska, USVI and Puerto Rico), as well as 22 other countries that include Western Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore and South Korea
- Free in-network calling
- Call Waiting
- Call Forwarding
- Voice messaging
- Caller ID
- E911 and 411
- Conference calls

Business Customers
Lingo offers three business packages. Each includes a second line, which is not always available through other VoIP providers. The customer service number is easily accessible on their website. Sign up is straight-forward, because they disclose all regulatory fees and add-on charges up front.

Consumer Feedback
Some customers stated the voice quality was as good as their landline.  One person stated she removed the local telephone company’s line from her external box and was able to plug Lingo into her main phone jack and utilize all existing jacks in her house.  After reviewing six sites with consumer feedback, it appears that the verdict is still out on LINGO, but that their on-going attention to value is producing favorable results.

BBB Report
The BBB shows that there have been seven complaints against Lingo during the past 36 months. Four were successfully resolved and the BBB administratively closed two, (noting that Lingo had made every attempt to resolve the issue with the customer, who had declined the resolution). Only one issue remains unresolved.

Common Misspellings
Lengo, Lyngo, Lingos, Lngo


Previous Review Previous Review
Click here to get started now!

Review Comments

nino:  Best company, I have been with LINGO for over 4 years. No issues at all; however, it all depends on your internet service. If you have excellent high speed, then you should not have any problem whatsoever. I stopped using their service because I switched to G4 cellphones where I can use video chat.
posted on Wednesday, February 23, 2011

AA:  : HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. BAD SERVICE AND WHEN I CANCELLED, I RECIEVED COLLECTION LETTERS FOR TWO MONTHS FOR A TOTAL OF OVER $99.00.NEVER TRY .I AM COMPLINING TO BBB.
posted on Saturday, January 29, 2011

SID :  HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. BAD SERVICE AND WHEN I CANCELLED, I RECIEVED COLLECTION LETTERS FOR TWO MONTHS FOR A TOTAL OF OVER $350.00.NEVER TRY .I AM COMPLINING TO BBB.
posted on Tuesday, December 7, 2010

frank:  I had have it for less than 1 year, they always over charge me. I called them for several times and they agreed it is a mistake, but they only apply the credit to my next bills!!! Come on, it's my money, why can't you credit it back to me immediately? It's about $75 and I need to wait for a long time to get all back. But after 1 month, they began to overcharge me again!!! And states that cell phone need to be charged on minutes but it was free before. I called them for 4 times, each time is over 40 minutes waiting and got cancelled, but charge me $99.50 cancellation fee!! No way!!
posted on Monday, October 25, 2010

susan:  Three years without a problem. Only one day without service.
posted on Monday, October 25, 2010

Charlysc:  Have been with this company for years and still VERY happy. Our families live overseas and Lingo has been the best deal so far. Customer support rocks: had to use them twice over the years and the answer was fast and reliable.
posted on Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Bryan:  If you try to cancel on the phone they will transfer you to a # that never picks up. I went an entire month where I could not make or receive local calls. I reported this and never got a response. Horrible company. Wish there were this many comments about them when I signed up in 2008. Avoid at all cost.
posted on Monday, September 6, 2010

Ram:  DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. I had lingo from 2007 till 2010. The calls quality and connection is not great but ok, I never had a problem in that regard. Their billing department sucks. I switched from talk 365 to World Talk plan where the call to India was free. But they charge me more every time I called. Whenever I called them they said they will pay only refund part of it and would say others are taxes and Government fees. They did this for three months and so I decided to change to Vonage. When vonage proted then number I called Lingo to cancel. They did not cancel and then they charged me with $40 and cahrged my card. Then I disputed the charge through credit card company. Now they sent a letter from collection agency. I am planning to fight for my money.
posted on Thursday, August 12, 2010

AL:  DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. I had lingo from 2006 till 2010, I have to say that calls quality and connection is great, I never had a problem in that regard, but starting a year ago, on international calls, they started charging much more then their published rates, I contacted them to see if their rates went up, and their answer was no and my charges were a mistake and I would be refunded, NEVER DID, for the next 3 months had the same problems and same answers and NEVER A REFUND, not only that but it got worse, they started charging me for calling countries that are suppose to be free within my plan, EVEN WORSE, some landline numbers I called were considered mobile numbers and was charged triple the rate, finally I gave up and cancelled with them, and recieved a confirmation e-mail thanking me for being a loyal customer since 2006, GUESS WHAT, a month later I was charged $99.5 for early termintion fee because I did not complete a 2 years contract, I WAS WITH THEM FOR 4 YEARS, another call and another apology and this time with an e-mail confirming that I shouldn't have been charged the termination fee, 3 MONTHS LATER NOW AND NO REFUND YET. I researched my problem to see if I was the only one and GUESS WHAT, I'm not the only one, I'm really considering an action lawsuit, so good luck joining them.
posted on Sunday, April 11, 2010

Peggy:  An absolute NIGHTMARE...the wost customer support that I have ever experienced ..Plus the phone service is often 'down'....Website is difficult to navigate due to slow resonse time ..Not worth it even if it were free!!!ROBLEMS WIT
posted on Sunday, April 11, 2010

angela:  worst service stay away from them
posted on Sunday, April 11, 2010

kazi:  Lingo has HORRIBLE customer service.. I recently changed my plan to a new promo but they wouldnt honor it after a month later... i wasnt the only one who was getting hard time, three of my friends who also signed up had gone through same problems.. each month we get High bills which suppose to be included in ur plan, to get a hold of customer service u have to wait atleast 40 minutes, and they cant even solve the billing problem, it has to be sent to higher power to be resolved..TRUST BE PPL "LINGO" IS NOTTING BUT PAIN IN THE BUTTOCK...stick to vonage or comcast
posted on Sunday, December 20, 2009

V:  First they suck you in with the great deals. When you sign a contract, they will change your 1-yr contract to a 2-yr contract and the only notification you'll get is through your account online - and they only give you 3 days. So if you don't respond within 3 days, that is acknowledgement that you accept the terms to the new 2-yr contract. Oh, and the cancelation fee is doubled as well. Technical features-wise, I have never really had any large complaints. Cheap intl calls, if not free. Comes with a lot of great functions that you pay extra with landline providers (caller id, call waiting, etc), I can manage my acct online, change features online, etc. Thank goodness I can pretty much do everything online because their Indian call center customer center is worthless and the people are condescending. They will never connect you to the main Primus Office in Virginia, and if they say that they can't do anything else for you - they WON'T do anything else for you. So as long as you are not having problems on the technical side, you're set. I happen to figure out a way to make my phonebills cheaper (Straight Talk cellphones + Magic Jack), and wanted out of the Lingo contract, but now I can't until I hit my 2-yr mark, which is another year.
posted on Sunday, December 20, 2009

kevin N.:  BILLING SERVICE SUCK!!! I just got collection for billing cancel April, 2008 service. I have need now Toll Free for new business, but not consider Lingo anymore. I will complaint with BBB too.
posted on Sunday, November 1, 2009

Voidstr:  I tried Lingo for a day, and when AT&T offered discounts rates to win me back, I canceled my Lingo account. I specifically asked the cancellation dept. to make sure my # wasn't ported. They sent an email a few days later stating the # was still to be ported, but that I could cancel with email. I emailed, but two days ago my phone was ported. It will take a WEEK to get my number back. Beware.
posted on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

olli:  Have used Lingo now for over 2 years. Worked great for me and especially calling for free to Germany is awesome. Had several setup problems though and the agents on the phone are mostly horrible. Once it is setup correctly though - it works nicely. Have to reset the adapter every other month.
posted on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

TR:  I have had the same problem with trying to cancel after horrible service, a false promo rate that was never honored, and then lingo threatening to send a collection agency after me when my credit card company tried to fix the problem. Avoid lingo at all costs.
posted on Sunday, September 6, 2009

Paulie:  Lingo (AKA Primus Telecommunications) has an "F" rating with the BBB. They have had 396 complaints and 192 of them in the last 12 months. I'm trying to cancel with them now and they are trying to charge me a $99.95 for a policy they changed 4 months after I began service. I have to wait until June 24th one year after I started to see how this is all going to pan out but I don't have high hopes after all the complaints I have found on the internet.
posted on Friday, June 12, 2009

JR:  Lingo is the worst co. to deal with. We had a one year agreement with them and when we cancelled their crummy service after 18 months they claimed that we owe them an early termination fee because they renewed our contract without notifying us. When we tried to resolve this with them all e-mails came back with a failure notice. Next thing I get is something from a collection agency that is trying to get this illegal fee. This whole experience is a nightmare. If you google lingo +complaints you will see that I am not the only one who is ldealing with this nightmare.
posted on Friday, June 12, 2009

GRR!:  LINGO is the absolute worst company to deal with, I have been calling way too many time to resolve some billing issues, when i thought it would be done and resolved and my account closed, they simply mischarged me and never never nver call you back! GET AWAY FROM THEM LIKE STINK!
posted on Monday, May 11, 2009

arr:  Lingo does not work and they make it impossible to cancel service - I had to call 8 times to cancel service and it took 2 months - they charged me after I finally cancelled - don't use Lingo
posted on Monday, April 6, 2009

TK:  Guys, I have been after this company to resolve my billing issue for 3 months now. No body is replying. NOT even their help desk. Pathetic. My advice -Consider some one else
posted on Monday, April 6, 2009

Werner:  I tried Lingo, but I was unable to get any halfway decent connection. Half of the words got lost on the way. I tried to contact Lingo via e-mail and phone now for two months. Unsuccessfully so far.
posted on Monday, April 6, 2009

Alex:  I am using Lingo from last 1 year. It rocks:)
posted on Monday, April 6, 2009

Matt:  Some mixed reviews. I'm looking at other companies but Lingo is still under my consideration.
posted on Monday, July 28, 2008

Vanessa:  Has anyone tried Lingo? Such a young company, I'm considering using a bigger company, but I'm looking around and I want to hear some feedback.
posted on Monday, July 21, 2008



Add A Comment

panel footer